The Ship Be Sinking

Mouth Almighty

DAMMIT…beaten to it.

I wasn’t going to specifically post the link to the YES~! cartwheel, but I was on my way here to post about Diego Sanchez when I saw that Brendan beat me to it.

In short, the world needs Diego Sanchez as champion…it just does. BJ Penn, as alluded to below in Brendan’s awesome preview post, is an all-time great fighter who truly deserves respect as one of the best ever. He’s also a surly, petulant prick with no charisma and did I also mention he’s completely humorless? I wish I could say that I could choose who I root for based entirely on their fighting ability, but at the end of the day I’m human and that’s not how it works.

Sanchez is, as mentioned, out of his mind. But, that is a large part of what makes him endearing. He’s eternally driven in much the same way that Penn is, but he manages it without being a jerk about it. To cram in a mention to my current favorite fighter, GSP also manages to be world-class and eternally driven without being an asshole as well.

Seriously though, can you imagine the Countdown shows with Sanchez as champ? Can you imagine the YES~! ring-walk with a title belt attached? Can you even fathom what kind of wacky shit Bruce Buffer would work into his introduction?

MMA Gods, if you’re listening, PLEASE LET DIEGO SANCHEZ WIN. Amen.

December 11, 2009 - Posted by | MMA

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

