The Ship Be Sinking

Mouth Almighty

…Double Ding-Dong No Buys

My DVR has now officially eaten both the original run AND the replay of the Nets’ season opener, so I’m SOL on that one. I’m going to refrain from saying anything in-depth since I missed it and it was the season opener, but, seriously now, Courtney Lee: 38 minutes, 2-11 from the field, 0-4 3, only one free throw AT THE TWO, 5 points, 3 boards, 2 dimes, 2 blocks (!?), 1 TO, 2 fouls, -4 on the evening. Against the Timberwolves. On a night where Yi freakin’ Jianlian took fewer shots and still scored over triple the points. That is the line of someone who did very little, pretty badly. I don’t want to overreact, but check the archives if you don’t believe me: I’ve never bought this guy and I still don’t. The Nets are rebuilding and I’m all in favor of giving him a million minutes to prove me wrong, but if you’re counting on this guy to be the long term backcourt mate to Devin Harris you may be disappointed.

Incidentally, that game like the Knicks’ season opener is a great advertisement of the power of 4-factor analysis to get a quick handle on a game- the Nets were largely comparable on free throws and total rebounds, lost on the o-boards, shot slightly better but got murdered on TOs 22-10. There’s your problem. There’s always more to say about a game than 4 factors alone, but it’s usually a good way to get a grasp on the generalities of what happened.

October 30, 2009 - Posted by | The Nets

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

