The Ship Be Sinking

Mouth Almighty

Amusing

Only tangentially related to sports, but: I just spent part of my morning reading about Brazilian naming conventions, got to a section about the tendency to use famous surnames as given names, and thought to myself “somewhere out there, there has to be a kid named Hendrix Silva.” And guess what: there is, and he’s on twitter. There’s a part of me that wants to block out 30 minutes to google “[random celebrity of the last 30 years] Silva” and see how many matches I can find. I’m easily amused.

EDIT:

“Dylan Silva” has 18,000 or so hits; “Lennon Silva” about 2,500; “Elvis Silva” has about 6,500.

DOUBLE EDIT: STALLONE SILVA. No Schwarzenegger though. There’s a Bogart Silva on myspace, but he’s in El Paso.

Ok, I’m done.

August 18, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. I think it’s hard to top the Indonesian (Singaporian) lad named “Batman bin Suparman”, though.

    Comment by Sean | August 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

