The Ship Be Sinking

Mouth Almighty

To piggyback off of the below post…

I just watched Cotto-Clottey for the first time, and scored along…Brendan re-watched it, and I took his scores down as well.

I ended up having the same score as the Harold Lederman card (114-113 Cotto), just in a slightly different path. I had 10-8 Cotto in the first round of course, with the knockdown. Other than that, I gave rounds 3, 6, 8, 11 and 12 to Cotto…and 2, 4, 5, 7, 9 and 10 to Clottey. Some of those rounds were difficult to score, but there were also others where it was fairly obvious.

Brendan had almost the same card, except he gave Cotto round 10 for a 115-113 score.

Now, as it turns out, I was watching this VERY closely…far more closely than I usually do (I am a boxing fan, but an especially casual one. I only care about big names or fights that promise big action for the most part, whereas Brendan is the Encyclopedia Boxiana)…but what if I were watching with my usual 3/4ths attention? I very well may have given rounds to Cotto that I wouldn’t have otherwise because, well, the rounds were close and Cotto’s a bigger name. Not only that, but isn’t it possible that Brendan and I had similar cards because we were watching it and discussing it in the same room? Of course it is!

Beyond that though, consider this an emphatic “what he said!” to Brendan’s post below. 116-111 is NOT that far out of the realm of possibility if you’re judging under a slightly different interpretation of the accepted scoring criteria.

June 15, 2009 - Posted by | Boxing

1 Comment »

  1. I had it 114-113 for Cotto. I have to be honest, though, I think 116-111 is giving too much credit to Cotto (and mind you, my favorite boxing writer, Dan Rafael, had that same score).

    While I completely agree with most of what Brendan had to say, I have some differences. I think that if you don’t score 10-10 rounds, which most judges will never do (right or wrong, it’s just a fact) then you have to be aware of who you’re giving a close round to. For example, if you give round 3 to Fighter A, even though at the conclusion of the round you really thought it an even round, then when round 6 rolls around, and it’s a similarly even round, I feel that a good judge will give that round to Fighter B.

    In this fight, having watched it twice, so many rounds were razor thin, that I think that 8 rounds to 4 for Cotto is a poor scorecard.

    With that said, I don’t think that that judge was biased or had something against Clottey, he just had a poor scorecard, the same way that scoring it 8-4 for Clottey would’ve been poor. 7-5, either way, is an acceptable scorecard, and, obviously, I like 6-6 as a perfect card, but that’s subjective.

    Good arguments, though. I am totally checking out this site all the time from now on!

    Comment by Tony M. | June 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

